Skip to content Skip to navigation

Impact of the NSF's Materials Research Science & Engineering Centers Program

An Assessment of the Impact of the NSF's Materials Research Science & Engineering Centers Program was carried out by an independent NRC committee over a 2-year period.

The purpose of this study was to:

  1. Assess the performance and impact of the National Science Foundation's Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) program;
  2. On the basis of current trends and needs in materials and condensed matter research, recommend future directions and roles for the program. Download NRC Report (1M)

Committee and Staff Members

Committee Membership

  • Matthew Tirrell, Chair, University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Kristi S. Anseth, University of Colorado at Boulder
  • Meigan Aronson, University of Michigan
  • David M. Ceperley, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Paul M. Chaikin, New York University
  • Ronald C. Davidson, Princeton University
  • Duane Dimos, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Francis J. DiSalvo, Cornell University
  • Edith Flanigen, UOP
  • Thomas F. Kuech, University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • Bruce Margon, Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Andrew Millis, Columbia University Venkatesh Narayanamurti, Harvard University
  • Ralph Nuzzo, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Douglas D. Osheroff, Stanford University
  • Stuart Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center Diandra L. Leslie-Pelecky, University of Nebraska
  • Julia M. Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories Lyle Schwartz, retired, Air Force Office of Science Research
  • Eli Yablonovitch, University of California at Los Angeles


  • Neil E. Paton, LiquidMetal Technologies

NRC Staff

  • Donald C. Shapero, Director
  • Timothy I. Meyer, Program Officer
  • David B. Lang, Research Assistant